Electrical Engineering Department at the University of Moratuwa is specialising in the disciplines of Electrical Power Generation, Transmission & Distribution; Electrical Machines and Drives; Power Electronics; Industrial Automation; Renewable Energy and Environment.

The Department of Electrical Engineering is one of the founder departments in the Faculty of Engineering, and presently conducts the B.Sc. Eng. (Honours) degree program for an annual intake of about 100undergraduate students. In addition, it conductstaught M.Sc./P.G. Diploma programs and postgraduate research programs.Approximately 100 students register each year for the three MSc/ P.G. Diploma Programmes namely Electrical Engineering, Electrical Installations, and Industrial Automation. The Department also offers research degrees leading to Master of Science, Master of Philosophy and Doctor of Philosophy.

The Study Program produces graduates for the local industry in the electricity and energy sectors, electrical construction industry and the manufacturing industry. A few graduates also pursue academic and research careers.


















The objectives of the electrical engineering study program are

  • to produce Electrical Engineering graduates for more effective and efficient utilisation of energy through better management in the new century
  • to improve the relevance of the study program in solving practical  problems faced by modern industry
  • to possess the knowledge needed to be in the forefront of current advances in areas of technology related to electrical engineering, such as green energy technologies
  • to enhance the creativity and innovativeness of the graduates
  • to improve the professionalism of the graduates and to elevate the quality of life of the society


The Vision of the Study Programme

The Vision of the Study Programme is to be the Internationally Recognized Centre of Excellence in Sri Lanka for Higher Education, Research and Development activities in the broad field of Electrical Engineering.


The Mission of the Study Programme

The Mission of the Study Programme is to produce Electrical Engineering graduates that have been trained to nurture an inquiring mind and have developed skills to face a diversity of challenges with emphasis on national relevance, innovation and creativity and thus remain employable. Further, it aims to be a leader in contributing to sustainable scientific, technological, social and economic development of Sri Lanka.


Staff Profile

The Department of Electrical Engineering currently has 30 academic cadre positions of which 22 are permanent posts and temporary posts, as shown in Table 2.4. The permanent staff consists of two Senior Professors, two Professors, one Associate Professor, ten Senior Lecturers and two Lecturers. Fifteen of these staff members are presently in active teaching duty while two staff member is on study leave abroad.

Staff members have expertise in diverse areas with international exposure. The department currently include 16 PhD holders.  The specialties of the staff members cover the following areas: high voltage engineering, power system transient analysis, power systems, energy policy making, systems control, computational intelligence, nuclear engineering, power electronics and machine drives, machine intelligence, robotics, industrial engineering, mobile communication and automation.